Test of colors and formatting

A Follower advised me that the “aqua” font I’ve been using to set off extended quotes is hard to read against the white background of e-mails.  This presents a dilemma as (1) I don’t like WordPress’s “blockquotes” — italics aren’t easy to read — and (2) the background of the blog itself is very dark gray, so the “aqua” appears fine there. It will be hard to find a color that works well in both places.

So here’s a test of some things I might do. I will need Followers to let me know whether they appear in e-mails the way I describe them here. Or, someone could forward me a copy of the e-mail, and then I can see for myself.

Sample 1: Table cell with aqua font on dark gray background

Table cell with aqua font on dark gray background

Sample 2: Table cell with black font on yellow background

Table cell with black font on yellow background

Sample 3: Paragraph with aqua font on dark gray background

Paragraph with aqua font on dark gray background (and a bunch of fluff stuff put in to see how things look with multiple lines.)

Sample 4: Paragraph with black font on yellow background

Paragraph with black font on yellow background (and a bunch of fluff stuff put in to see how things look with multiple lines.)

I complained to the same Follower that writing is taking up a lot of my time. She advised me to keep at it, as it will advance my career. That was a big morale boost! Thanks!
 

2 thoughts on “Test of colors and formatting

  1. Writing is certainly a gift you have, as well as the ability to see both sides of an argument in an unbiased manner. Always enjoy your commentary. …

Leave a Reply

